Thursday , July 29 2021

Plato reveals the new Mayoral commission from Cape Town

The new mayor of Cape Town, Dan Plato, revealed Sunday his new mayor's committee after a period of uncertainty in the city hall in the midst of the crisis of his predecessor, Patricia De Lille.

"It is with great pleasure that I announced today a new, united, diversified and energized Mayoral Committee (Mayco) to serve and take City of Cape Town and its neighbors in front," said Plato, who was voted on Tuesday.

They are:

Deputy Mayor – Ian Neilson
Assets and Facilities – James Vos
Corporate Services – Sharon Cottle
Finance: Marian Nieuwoudt
Informal Facilities, Water and Waste Services, Energy – Xanthea Limberg
Social services, security and security – JP Smith
Transportation Authority and Urban Development – Felicity Purchase
East Area – Phindile Maxiti
Southern Area – Zahid Badroodien
Central Area – Maloi Booi
North Area – Grant Twigg

The shake comes from the resignation of Chief of Staff Shaun August, members of Mayor Brett Herron, Suzette Little, and Siya Mamkeli, and counselors Greg Bernado and Thulani Stemela as a result of the accusations against Lille.

READ: 6 questions answered about the saga De Lille

"The members that I chose to serve in this committee demonstrated their ability to fulfill their functions with excellence, their commitment to work together as a united council, and their passion for serving the people of this city," Plato said.

He said that the Plan for Organizational Development and Transformation of the city will be revised.

It is likely to provoke a different structure that will take place at the next meeting of the board for ratification.

He thanked the old members of Mayco for their services and hoped to work with the new committee.

Source link