Saturday , January 16 2021

MPI: Biosecurity champions in the spotlights

Biosafety New Zealand announced today the winners of the New Zealand Biosafety Awards of 2018.

Environment The Southland Fiordland Maritime Track Management Plan took the top prize, the New Zealand Biosafety Supreme Award. His project also received the Local and Central Government Eagle Technology Biosafety Award from New Zealand.

The Fiordland Maritime Traffic Management Plan, the first of its kind in New Zealand, aims to protect one of the most important and significant areas of New Zealand from marine pests that are transported on local and visiting ships.

"The New Zealand Biosafety Awards celebrate iwi, environmental organizations, science providers, community groups, local, regional and government agencies that work hard to help ensure that Aotearoa is safe from pests and diseases," said Roger Smith, Chief of Biosafety, New Zealand. .

"Its magnificent mahi is essential to maintain our strong biosafety system and every day they are putting in difficult places to guarantee that we continue having a world-wide biosecurity system."

The winners of the awards include a wide variety of interesting projects related to biosecurity from the protection of the Kiwi industry of New Zealand, to excellence in biosafety in Tauranga Moana to improve the results of kÅkako and even innovative products such as a portable cleaning system of footwear

"This year saw a record number of high-caliber tickets, making it very challenging for prize judges (chaired by Dr John Hellstrom) to select these winners," said Roger Smith.

"These prizes are an incredible opportunity, as they provide a break to take time to recognize and honor the important achievements that are taking place within our biosafety system.

"New Zealand Biosafety Awards winners show that biosecurity is not just Biosafety in New Zealand. Each new hunter has to play a role in the prevention of pests and diseases to enter New Zealand or help stop its spread if Get here. Take everyone to protect what we have, "said Roger Smith.

The full list of the winners of the New Zealand Biosafety Awards are:

New Zealand Biosafety Conservation Community Prize – Pir Aroja Te Aroaro or Kahu Restoration Society

Prize of the biosafety biosafety industry of New Zealand – Kiwifruit Vine Health

Biosafety Biological Heritage Challenge Science Prize in New Zealand – Scion: New Zealand Forest Research Institute

New Zealand Biosecurity AsureQuality Emerging Leader Award – Dr. Amanda Black

New Zealand Biosecurity Te Puni KÅ Kiri Mā ori Award – Te RÅ «nanga or Nai Te Rangi Iwi Trust

New Zealand Biosafety Eagle Technology Local Award and Central Government – Southland Environment

Nobel Peace Prize in New Zealand Biosafety – Jacson3 Limited

Biosafety Supreme Prize of New Zealand – Southland Environment

Minister of Biosafety Award – Greg Corbett

For more information, visit

Source link